Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Sources of Copyright Information
More Sources of Copyright Information:
Creative Commons Australia
Creative Commons Australia is the affiliate which supports Creative Commons in Australia and administers the Australian CC licences. Explore information about CC in Australia, the Australian and international licences, read about Australian research and more
The Official Guide to Copyright Issues for Australian Schools and TAFE
Education and Copyright Compliance: A Toolkit by This book is a practical guide to management copyright in educational institutions. it is aimed at teachers, profesros, librarians and other staff responsible for copying and using copright material in schools. In June 2017, new legislation was passed to amend the copyright act, the changes will come into place in December 2017.
Call Number: 346.0482994 AUS 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Copyright & Online Technolgies by The internet opens up new opportunities and presents new challenges for creators and users of copyright material. In this book we identify key copyright issues for anyone engaging with the online environment.
How copyright applies online
Digital rights management, contract and business models for distributing content online
Risk management and intermediary liability
The cloud, linking, embedding, data mining, caching & other online issues
Call Number: 346.940482
Publication Date: 2012
Copyright compliance guide by This book is for every organisation likely to use material in which other people own copyright. This guide is for organisations wanting to ensure copyright compliance when using other people's material. It's particularly aimed at people who have responsibility for copyright compliance in their organisation, but managers and directors will also find it useful. It provides practical guidance and information. It is not a substitute for legal advice.
Call Number: 346.940482 MCD
Publication Date: 2008
Copyright in training materials: A practical guide by Are your a registered training organisation? Do you write or produce training materials? This book is for you! Copyright in Training Materials is for people who develop and use training materials, including those working in Australia’s educational sectors. It is also useful for people who commission the creation of training materials. The new edition of the book incorporates a number of legislative amendments and new cases, including some recent cases looking at copyright ownership and employment. The book deals with all manner of training materials, from those in traditional hard copy formats to digital and online formats. It provides a useful guide for people who want information about
how material is protected by copyright,
who owns copyright; and
how you can deal with copyright material (for example,when selling material to training institutions or contracting with publishers).
Call Number: 346.940482 AUS 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Intellectual Property by We all create intellectual property. We all use intellectual property. Intellectual property is the most pervasive yet least understood way we regulate expression. Despite its importance to so many aspects of the global economy and daily life, intellectual property policy remains a confusing and arcane subject. This engaging book clarifies both the basic terms and the major conflicts surrounding these fascinating areas of law, offering a layman's introduction to copyright, patents, trademarks, and other forms of knowledge falling under the purview of intellectual property rights. Using vivid examples, noted media expert Siva Vaidhyanathan illustrates the powers and limits of intellectual property, distilling with grace and wit the complex tangle of laws, policies, and values governing the dissemination of ideas, expressions, inventions, creativity, and data collection in the modern world. Vaidhyanathan explains that intellectual property exists as it does because powerful interests want it to exist. The strongest economies in the world have a keen interest in embedding rigid methods of control and enforcement over emerging economies to preserve the huge economic interests linked to their copyright industries-film, music, software, and publishing. For this reason, the fight over the global standardization of intellectual property has become one of the most important sites of tension in North-South global relations. Through compelling case studies, including those of Starbucks, Coca-Cola, Sony, Amazon, and Google Books, Vaidhyanathan shows that the modern intellectual property systems reflect three centuries of changes in politics, economics, technologies, and social values. Although it emerged from a desire to foster creativity while simultaneously protecting it, intellectual property today has fundamentally shifted to a political dimension.
Call Number: 346.04 VAD
Publication Date: 2017-03-09
Intellectual property: Text and essential cases by Intellectual Property: Text and Essential Cases continues to provide a comprehensive, up-to-date legal analysis of the cases and legislation which comprise modern intellectual property law.This edition adds resale royalty rights for visual artists to its coverage of the major IP topics: copyright, moral rights, performers' protection, patents, trademarks, designs, plant breeder's rights, circuit layouts and confidential information. It also analyses the new Competition and Consumer Act 2011 (Cth) as it relates to passing off and related actions. The impact of challenging cases such as IceTV is considered in detail and extracts of impoertant new cases have been added to the book.
Call Number: 346.94048 REY 4th ed
Publication Date: 2012
Libraries & copyright by This book provides Australian library workers with a guide to the legislation around managing information. Part 2 provides a general overview of copyright. Part 3 looks at the exceptions to copyright. Parts 4-6 look at copyright in the context of a library supplying clients and other libraries with materials from their collection. Part 7 covers collection management including digitisation, while Part 8 goes through the copyright considerations in situations such as online access, library events, and clients with a disability. Part 9 looks at the relevant copyright licences a library may have to deal with. Many of these chapters contain frequently asked questions. Finally Part, 10 looks at current issues in law reform affecting libraries
Call Number: 346.940482 TEN
Publication Date: 2016