Makes referencing easy
Zotero finds references, formats them and does a number of functions that makes working with references very easy. It is a simpler program
compared to other software, so is popular option at many institutions.
Stores all your references in one place
Often when researchers are doing research, they may end up with references stored in different places, different devices, paper and e copy. With
Zotero you can store your references in the one place.
Connects to databases and downloads references from them automatically
Zotero, like most ref management software, will connect to software and allow for automatic downloads. So if you are in a journal article database,
you will be given the option to download a Zotero file for the article directly to your Zotero account
Using the online account can give you cloud storage so you can access your Zotero account anywhere
Zotero provides a free online account, which connects to your standalone computer based account. This means if you are traveling,
or working away from your home computer, you can access all your articles, add to them, or read them. The online account will synchronise
automatically and update where there have been changes to the articles, or new ones have been added.
Can add the full text article to the reference, so keeping your references and full text together
Normally just the reference, the bibliographic data, meta data and perhaps an abstract are downloaded to the Zotero account. However, you can
add the full text of the article as an attachment to the record.
Zotero Inserts the references into word for you
Zotoer will connect to word and insert the references into word for you. This is normally done with a Word plug in you need to download
downloadable from the Zotero page (Zotero.org).
Automatically changes your references to any citation style you require, just by pressing a button
A key feature of Zotero and other Reference Management software is that it will automatically conver the reference for you. So if you have all your
references in Chicago or Harvard style, and need to conver them to APA7, you can just press a button and Zotero will apply the rules of the style file
for APA and change the original reference information to conform with the style. However you should not its not always perfect, you may need to
make some manual changes to get it correct.
Will build a reading list at the end of your document, from your references
Once you have added references using zotero to your word doc, it will build a reading list/bibliography from the added references, and put it at the end of the word doc. This can be refreshed and will automatically update the reading list, when any new references are added.
