AI Literature review Search tools compared to Other Journal/Research searching tools – Comparative table.
This table compares traditional journal searching applications with AI literature review searches.
It should be noted that the different databases search different collections, so will always return different results.
Also some of these are full text, others will only return an abstract. If the abstract is relevant, then that can be used to obtain the full text.
|
Name of resource |
Databases searched |
Number of holdings |
Cost |
Disciplines covered |
Material searched |
Full text |
|
Various institutional research databases |
Free |
Various |
Institutional research |
Yes |
||
|
Google Scholar database |
389 |
Free |
Various |
Journal, conference papers, dissertations, books etc |
Some Full text and abstracts |
|
|
Proquest Journal database |
279 million |
Subscription (also open source option) |
Various |
Journals, books, video, dissertations |
Yes |
|
|
Ebsco Journal database |
132 million |
Subscription access |
Various |
Journals |
Yes |
|
|
Web of Science databases |
225mill (Platform) |
Subscription access |
Science |
Journals, books conference proceedings |
Yes |
|
|
AI Lit Review Tools |
||||||
|
Semantic scholar database (including material from publishing partners) |
200mill |
Free |
Science, Business, History, economics |
Journals |
Some Full text and abstracts |
|
|
Semantic scholar database, Microsoft Academic Graph, PubMed |
Not Known |
Free |
Various |
Mainly Journal articles |
Some Full text and abstracts |
|
|
Microsoft Academic, Pubmed, Crossref, Unpaywall, Orcid, CORE |
Free |
Various |
|
Some Full text and abstracts |
||
|
Pubmed and(?) |
200mill |
Free access for basic more options with paid access |
Medical, Science, Social Policy |
Peer reviewed journals |
|
|
|
|
285mil |
Free access for basic – more options with paid access |
Science |
Research papers |
Full text |
|